July 27, 2019

4 posts

Charlene Morris knew Salem, Massachusetts had a spooky reputation. But when she decided to open her B&B there, she expected guests–not ghosts…

A grieving young widow, Charlene needed a new start–so she bought a historic mansion, sight unseen, and drove from Chicago to New England to start turning it into a bed-and-breakfast.

On her first night in the house, she awakens to find a handsome man with startling blue eyes in her bedroom. Terror turns to utter disbelief when he politely introduces himself as Jack Strathmore–and explains that he used to live here–when he was alive. He firmly believes that someone pushed him down the stairs three years ago, and he won’t be able to leave until someone figures out who.

If Charlene wants to get her business up and running in time for the Halloween tourist rush and get this haunting houseguest out of the way, she’ll have to investigate. Though the truth be told, this ghost is starting to grow on her.

Titles in the A Salem B & B Mystery series include — Mrs. Morris and the Ghost – Mrs. Morris and the Witch –

Ty Everett ran off to the rodeo when he turned eighteen and has been riding bulls ever since…until his last fall causes partial amnesia and he must return to Cold River Ranch to figure out what comes next. But how can he pick his next move when he can’t remember how he got here in the first place–much less the beautiful woman who appears at the ranch, claims she knows him and warms his cold heart for the first time since he woke up in the hospital?

Rodeo Queen Hannah Monroe gave up her crown for Ty Everett and her innocence. What she wants from Ty now is a divorce. But Ty can’t remember her–or their secret wedding, or even the son she never meant to hide from him–and Hannah is torn. How can she leave the man she can’t forget and still loves despite herself? And even if she’s willing to start over, what will happen when the truth comes out?

Titles in the Cold River Ranch series include —  A True Cowboy ChristmasCold Heart, Warm Cowboy – The Last Real Cowboy (January 2020)

She’s a secret sensation. 
Miss Lily Hartley is the anonymous mastermind behind the ton’s latest obsession: The Debutante’s Revenge, a tell-all advice column for young ladies. To keep her identity hidden, Lily delivers her columns disguised as a boy—which is well and good, until she lands in the middle of a tavern brawl. As luck would have it, a devastatingly handsome duke sweeps in to rescue her.

He has no idea who she is.
Eric Nash, Duke of Stonebridge, discovers there’s a beautiful woman hiding beneath a lad’s cap, and, before long, he’s falling for the delightfully clever stranger recuperating in his house. He vows to help her find her home, even though he’s reluctant to part with her. There’s only one problem.

Neither does she.
Lily has no idea who she is. She could be a duchess or maid. Betrothed or married. There’s only one thing she does know—that her attraction to Nash is more than skin-deep, and it grows stronger every day. While Lily and Nash search to find her true identity, they just might lose their hearts to each other.

Titles in the Debutante Diaries include —  First Earl I See TonightThe Duke Is But A Dream – When You Wish Upon A Rogue

The 2019 RITA Award recipients will make July 26, 2019, a day to remember in Romance writing acknowledgment history.  This year Authors of Color, Authors of Diversity were acknowledged with top honors – and it’s a long, long overdue celebration.

As a reader and a blogger, this is one ceremony that I wish I could attend in person, but I’m content to watch the live streams and read the Twitter updates as the conference moves through the days leading up to award night.

Many of the authors who took home awards are long-time favorite authors or authors that I’ve read a few of their books.  So many more are new-to-me, and I’ll be frank and tell you that I headed over to Amazon to pick up titles by the winners.  When a book receives a RITA, then I should be reading it.  It’s just that simple.  And I will be going over the finalists and the mentions as well to pick up even more titles.

So, my congratulations to every single winner whether it’s the first statue received or the latest – all are amazing talents yet it’s their hard work, perseverance, stubbornness, blood, sweat, tears, and love of the written word – and belief in themselves – that brought every single person on that stage to where they stand today as an RWA RITA Award winner.

I don’t know any of these talented people personally — but I am so happy for every author there.

Here are the RITA Award winners for 2019.  Each book title is linked back to GoodReads should you like to check them out a bit more.