Something evil lurks in the charming town of Jenkins Cove. When Sophie Caldwell devotes a room in her B&B to communicate with spirits, dangerous secrets rise to the surface, and the lives of three couples will never be the same. 

Dead bodies. Mysterious gunmen. Eerie voices rising from the mist. When Chelsea Caldwell returned to run her aunt’s B&B in Jenkins Cove, she hadn’t counted on being swept into a strange and frightening mystery. Something was wrong in the old Victorian house and it started with the arrival of one guest: Michael Bryant. 

Michael shadowed her, probed her past and turned up at the deadliest moments. But Chelsea couldn’t resist his sexy swagger and dark good looks. Though Michael promised to protect her, she sensed that he had secrets—dark secrets that could get her killed.

Titles in the Return to Jenkins Cove series include:  Christmas Spirit by Rebecca YorkChristmas Awakening by Ann Voss Peterson – Christmas Delivery  by Patricia Rosemoor

Title:  Christmas Spirit
Series:  Return to Jenkins Cove #1
Author:  Rebecca York
Genre:  Paranormal Christmas Romance
Published:  November 1, 2017
Publisher:  Season Publishing
My Rating:  4 stars

Christmas Spirit begins the Return to Jenkins Cove trilogy written by three authors.  Each story is complete in itself with threads woven throughout all of the stories.

Chelsea never wanted to see or communicate with ghosts.  It was simply something that was and she had no control over.  This fact has messed up a lot of things in her life – like being the subject of whispers and rudeness from those who believe she’s a fraud.  She tries to not let those people get to her, but it’s not easy.  Now there are ghosts demanding justice, a mystery to solve, danger all around her… and one man who is not what he claims tugging on her emotions.  She wants to believe in Michael’s attraction to her, but there’s just something about him that doesn’t ring true.  She has to trust him for he seems to be there when she most needs his help, but how can trust survive based on lies.

Michael is determined to show Chelsea for exactly what she is… a fake out for her own fraudulent purposes.  There are no such things as ghosts who speak from beyond the grave.  Dead is dead.  His mother’s need to contact his dead father showed him exactly the type of people who would drain a person dry in their schemes to steal money, hope and normal lives.  He was pretending to be something he wasn’t when  he arrived at the bed and breakfast, he hadn’t intended on caring about this woman… or questioning his own solid beliefs.  But things were happening that he could not explain, a mystery that needed solved, justice that had to be found.  Even if it meant he had to readjust his thinking.  The danger to Chelsea is very real, and Michael will do anything to keep her safe – including believing her abilities to talk to the dead.

Christmas Spirit will grab your attention and hold on to you until the end… even when you know there is more to come.  Chelsea and Michael make an intriguing couple, and the danger from the living is just as real as the ghosts they encounter.  I enjoyed their adventure into romance and definitely will continue with the rest of this trilogy.  Combining two of my favorite genre, Christmas Romance and Paranormal Romance just makes this one all the more enjoyable for me.  I’d recommend this story to any reader who loves things that go bump in the night, a mystery to solve and engaging characters to care about.

*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley. That does not change what I think of this story.  It is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinion about this book.*

Available in paperback and for the Kindle