My One and Only Cowboy by A.J. Pine

Posted December 21, 2019 by Marsha in Modern Western Romance, Series / 0 Comments

Delaney Harper thought she’d seen the last of Meadow Valley two years ago after she divorced her lying, cheating, gambler of a husband who left her broken-hearted and, well, just flat broke. But news that her ex sold their property—without legally removing her from the deed—means heading back to claim her share of the land—and possibly her dream.

Sam Callahan, co-owner of the Meadow Valley guest ranch, is barely keeping his head above water. He bought the land for a steal, but keeping a new business afloat is another story. When a gorgeous blonde barges onto his property on a quiet Friday afternoon insisting he bought the place in a fraudulent sale—and that she’s there to prove she still owns half the land—Sam realizes he’s got much more to worry about. He could lose everything—including his heart.

Titles in the Meadow Valley Ranch series include — Cowboy to the Rescue (prequel) My One and Only Cowboy – Make Mine A Cowboy (August 2020)

Connecting Series — Titles in the Crossroads Ranch series include — Second Chance Cowboy – Saved by the Cowboy #1.5 – Tough Luck Cowboy – Hard Loving Cowboy 

(bonus story Toughest Cowboy in Texas (Happy, Texas #1) by Carolyn Brown)

Title:  My One and Only Cowboy
Series:  Meadow Valley Ranch #1
Author:  A. J. Pine
Genre:  Modern Western Romance
Published:  December 17, 2019
Publisher:  Forever (Grand Central Publishing)
My Rating:  4.5 stars

MY ONE AND ONLY COWBOY is the first title in the Meadow Valley Ranch series which has a connection to the earlier series, Crossroads Ranch.  While you don’t have to have read the Crossroads Ranch series to enjoy this one – a quick visit to the author’s website shared that we’ll be seeing someone we definitely know from that series making an appearance at this guest ranch.  I have read and loved Crossroads Ranch and would recommend it if you have not yet discovered the Everett family.

Delaney Harper and Sam Callahan each believe they own part of the ranch Sam and his partners/friends recently bought.  Delaney’s ex-husband was a lying, thieving, scam artist who not only swindled Delaney but tried his scams on most of the folks in town.  To say that Delaney doesn’t want to be back in town would be a huge understatement.  But her name was forged in order for that sale to go through and she had plans for that ranch – a ranch that looks nothing at all like it once did.  She only wants what is rightfully hers – but a broken down car in need of repairs, a town basically shut down for the Harvest Festival, and one caring, handsome cowboy are definitely throwing wrenches into her plans to take back what she believes is part hers.

On top of everything else that is going wrong in his life, Sam doesn’t need one beautiful spitfire showing up claiming her signature was never on the paperwork that made this ranch a dream come true for Sam and the others.  She’s going to have to wait to prove that point and in the meantime, Delaney is staying on the ranch.  One desperate call will send Sam hurrying to avert a disaster – and bring his one major secret out into the open.  Two people who have a sizzling attraction, one ranch standing between them, and some major issues to be dealt with will make it a very rocky road to their happy ending.

I enjoyed MY ONE AND ONLY COWBOY very much on several levels.  Delaney and Sam have a believable relationship full of all the potholes that come with real life.  They each have things they need to prove not only to others but to themselves as well.  And they each have to decide if falling in love is worth the risk to hearts that have already been through so much.  I liked them both individually and as a couple.  Add in some interesting secondary characters, a few laugh out loud moments, some misty eyes, and a whole lot of emotions and you discover a story that will draw you in and keep you flipping pages right up to the happy ending.  I’d not hesitate to recommend this one and I’m definitely on board for the rest of this series.

*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley. That does not change what I think of this story.  It is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinion about this book.*

Available in paperback and for the Kindle


Tags: , , ,