Sweet Little Lies by Jill Shalvis

Posted August 10, 2019 by Marsha in A Re-Read Review, Contemporary Romance, Series / 0 Comments

Choose the one guy you can’t have . . .

As captain of a San Francisco Bay tour boat, Pru can handle rough seas—the hard part is life on dry land. Pru loves her new apartment and her neighbors; problem is, she’s in danger of stumbling into love with Mr. Right for Anybody But Her.

Fall for him—hard . . .

Pub owner Finn O’Riley is six-foot-plus of hard-working hottie who always makes time for his friends. When Pru becomes one of them, she discovers how amazing it feels to be on the receiving end of that deep green gaze. But when a freak accident involving darts (don’t ask) leads to shirtless first aid, things rush way past the friend zone. Fast.

And then tell him the truth.

Pru only wants Finn to be happy; it’s what she wishes for at the historic fountain that’s supposed to grant her heart’s desire. But wanting him for herself is a different story—because Pru’s been keeping a secret that could change everything.

Titles in the Heartbreaker Bay series include — Sweet Little Lies – The Trouble with Mistletoe – One Snowy Night – Accidentally on Purpose – Chasing Christmas Eve – Holiday Wishes – About That Kiss –  Hot Winter Nights – Playing for Keeps – Wrapped Up In You – Twist of Fate (A Dark Nights line companion novella) –

If you love Jill Shalvis’ stories then check out our Jill Shalvis page for more titles, series, and standalone titles that have been reviewed here at Keeper Bookshelf.  (At one time most of Ms. Shalvis’ romances were reviewed on a website of mine that no longer exists due to circumstances beyond my control.  It is my intention to bring those “lost” reviews here to Keeper Bookshelf over time.)

Title:  Sweet Little Lies
Series:  Heartbreaker Bay #1
Author:  Jill Shalvis
Genre:  Contemporary Romance
Published:  June 28, 2016
Publisher:  Avon Books
My Rating:  4.5 stars

Opening up the first book in a series is always, for me, filled with anticipation. Especially when it’s from one of my favorite Romance authors, – yes like most readers I have many favorites and Jill Shalvis ranks right up there toward the top of that list. I crave the comfort of the types of stories I’ve loved before, but being a contrary human I also want something different, something I haven’t experienced from them yet. I wasn’t too far into Sweet Little Lies before I knew that this was the beginning of one enticing, engaging series. When you can hook me by the end of the first chapter into needing to know what happens to Finn and Pru – then you’ve started a journey for me that I will stick to until the end of that series and completely enjoy myself.

The Heartbreaker Bay series centers around a tight-knit group of friends who have seen each other through rough times, good times and are more comfortable with each other than family in many cases. Sweet Little Lies brings the focus on Finn and the Irish Pub he owns that is often the gathering place for everyone to touch base at. Finn’s and his brother Sean’s lives were touched by tragedy when Finn was just starting out in adult life. Their father’s death put him as the one person to make a good life for himself and his brother. Of course sacrifices, changes in plans had to be made but Finn never hesitated and to this day Finn and Sean have a tight if at times rocky relationship. Finn’s life is full, busy, satisfying and he’s not looking for romance especially after the way his most recent foray into dating ended as it did. Yet there’s something about the new girl in the square. Her eyes speak of sadness but her manner shouts of something indescribable and special… something that Finn is drawn to and surprisingly wants to discover more about. His gut tells him she’s going to be important – he simply doesn’t realize just how important yet.

For all of Pru’s adult life, she has been on a mission to right wrongs done to so many others. Quietly, without fanfare simply doing what is right. She knows she can never make up for the actions of another but she can and will help where she can. Years ago she’d already helped Finn and Sean without them being aware of it. Yet she feels a need to know that Finn is alright, that his life has turned out the way he wanted. She wouldn’t have said she needed to be in his life but she did need to know that he was happy. It doesn’t make sense to her either but it’s how she’s felt for a long time now. What she hadn’t expected was the strong, fiery attraction between them or for it to blaze into flames so easily or quickly. Pru knows that she has to tell Finn the truth before they get in too deep before hearts can be broken and lives changed… trouble is, they’re already in too deep and there’s no turning back now.

Sweet Little Lies will grab your attention, capture your heart and hold you hostage until the final page. Pru is, well she’s just a sweetheart. Strong even if she doesn’t always believe that of herself, set on a course that most people would have never taken. What she’s not telling Finn is huge and the longer she waits the more difficult it’s becoming. She hadn’t planned on falling for him and now that she fears she’s going to lose him her world is crashing in on her. Finn is definitely hot and stubborn and totally committed to Pru, even if he’s not using quite that word just yet. Together they are the perfect match with enough real quirks to make them totally believable. But this isn’t just a story about Pru and Finn, it’s also about their tribe, that group of people who make up a family that will be there for them throughout anything life tosses their way. The fun part is going to be discovering all of their stories along the way in the Heartbreaker Bay series.

If you enjoy believable, realistic stories with people who you could walk past in your own neighborhood, then Sweet Little Lies is a story that you’ll want to dive into. I’d recommend this one for any Romance reader who loves having the secondary characters be almost as important to the story as the main couple. It’s a really good story and an excellent beginning to the series.

I own a Kindle edition of this story.

Available in a variety of formats including the Kindle


Tags: , , ,