Tag : Discussion

4 posts

I rarely talk about my family’s private life on this blog.  After all, it’s about books, book plots, book reviews, and… well, reading.  So, I don’t often speak about my life outside of those books – sometimes, yes, but it’s not often.

Right now, because I’m so proud of the man my son has become – because of all the challenges he has met every single day of his life I’d like you to meet my kid (who will always be my kiddo but is now a fully grown man of his own).

 

 

I love a good romance – contemporary, historical, paranormal, mystery, suspense – it doesn’t matter the genre, I simply love a good love story.

I absolutely hate spoilers.  I’m not afraid to admit to that one, at all.

I try very hard in my reviews of books I’ve read and enjoyed (or didn’t enjoy at all) to keep my observations, plot-wise, about what can be found in the Cover Description.  The author or publishing house decided to give those spoilers away all on their own.  The rest of the review contains my reactions to the story, my feelings for the characters, how well the author pulled me into their world or how their writing flowed, hopefully, holding me in place until the end.

Once my review is published I’ll look over other readers/reviewers’ thoughts about the same book out of curiosity.  What I often see makes me cringe.  And I know if I had read some of those reviews first that I never would have picked up the book to begin with – and sometimes I’m told the entire story including the ending so actually why bother buying the book now?

This little post, my small blog isn’t going to have a huge impact on spoilers in reviews.  I know that.  Every reader, every reviewer is entitled to their own thoughts, their own style, their own opinion.

But for the love of books that have the words “The End” in them, please don’t tell me how it all ends.  Allow me something to discover on my own, some part of this adventure that is a surprise to me, something… please.  To be quite frank, this is the reason that as a reader I never, ever read reviews before I’ve finished the book.  That probably sounds very strange to some people – but the ending has been spoiled for me far too many times to take that risk.

My opinion.  My thoughts.  My plea – Please Don’t Spoil The Book For Me By Telling Me The Ending.  I don’t think that’s too much to ask, really I don’t.

When I began blogging years ago, there was an awesome weekly meme called Waiting on Wednesday that gave me so many amazing book ideas and authors that I’d never read yet to look up.  Sadly, WoW isn’t being hosted by Breaking the Spine now, so I let that weekly event fall by the side.

Recently I discovered that Tressa at Wishful Endings has picked up the mantle with Can’t Wait Wednesday.  So let’s get started and find some amazing new books to read at:

 

Because of those eclectic tastes of mine I’m going to put up two books I can’t wait for each week — they will be in a variety of genre maybe every now and then I’ll want something that might interest you as well.

This week I’m waiting on a Paranormal Romance/Shifter Romance for my Shifter Haven blog and that one is Tiger’s Claim by Celia Kyle

 

Fans of Katie MacAlister and Terry Spear will love this sexy enemies-to-lovers, paranormal romance about a gorgeous billionaire and a vengeful heroine from the New York Times bestselling author of Wolf’s Mate.

Jaguar shifter Stella Moore has one thing on her mind – to take down the anti-shifter organization that destroyed her family. Her plans are going perfectly until a sexy-as-sin stranger throws off her game and decides the only way they can both avoid getting caught is to claim her as his girlfriend. Wait! What? Now she has to fly to a tropical island and play along because the alternative is…deadly. 

Most people know Cole Turner as an uber-wealthy playboy – not as a tiger shifter who’s part of a special ops team to protect his kind. Now his undercover mission has been compromised by a redheaded bombshell, and every animal instinct he has is screaming mate. To survive among so many enemies, they’ll have to keep up their romantic act, find their intel… and absolutely not fall in love along the way.

A little further away, like in February 2019 I’m waiting for the next in the long running in Death series by J. D. Robb entitled Connections in Death

In this gritty and gripping new novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, Eve Dallas fights to save the innocent—and serve justice to the guilty—on the streets of New York.

Homicide cop Eve Dallas and her billionaire husband, Roarke, are building a brand-new school and youth shelter. They know that the hard life can lead kids toward dangerous crossroads—and with this new project, they hope to nudge a few more of them onto the right path. For expert help, they hire child psychologist Dr. Rochelle Pickering—whose own brother pulled himself out of a spiral of addiction and crime with Rochelle’s support.

Lyle is living with Rochelle while he gets his life together, and he’s thrilled to hear about his sister’s new job offer. But within hours, triumph is followed by tragedy. Returning from a celebratory dinner with her boyfriend, she finds Lyle dead with a syringe in his lap, and Eve’s investigation confirms that this wasn’t just another OD. After all his work to get clean, Lyle’s been pumped full of poison—and a neighbor with a peephole reports seeing a scruffy, pink-haired girl fleeing the scene.

Now Eve and Roarke must venture into the gang territory where Lyle used to run, and the ugly underground world of tattoo parlors and strip joints where everyone has taken a wrong turn somewhere. They both believe in giving people a second chance. Maybe even a third or fourth. But as far as they’re concerned, whoever gave the order on Lyle Pickering’s murder has run out of chances…

Those are my “want it now books” for this week, looking forward to checking out your choices on Wishful Ending’s Can’t Wait Wednesday.

Hello-JuneThe wee hours of June 1, 2015.  The year is half over, or half is yet to come – depends on how you look at things, isn’t it?

I have a lot to accomplish this month.  And I’m certain that more will be added to that pile as the days move on.

Looking at my shelf over at NetGalley shows me I’ve some reading and reviewing to get done, but not overwhelming – at this point, anyway.  And thinking of the physical novels I bought yesterday plus the ones I downloaded from Amazon — *rolls eyes*  What was I thinking!  But, it’s okay, it will all get done, eventually.

The May ARC Sweep is ended, and I got a lot cleared out, reviewed and up-to-date, until June.  I’ll take that accomplishment and run with it.  Thanks to the Blog Ahead event, I’m doing well on scheduled posts ready to drop.  So for the two specific challenges for May – it went well and I’m satisfied with my personal results.

Speaking of Challenges – I really need to update the ones I joined back in January.  I know I’ve read the books *hangs head* – I also know I’ve been horrid about going and listing them either on the Challenge hosts blogs or on my own pages.  Something else to add to the June to-do-list.

I have definitely upped my time on Twitter this month – but still more needs to be done.  Not truly comfortable there yet, but that will come.  On my list for this month is working on Pinterest – gosh, I’ve been so bad about that.  Actually, as a shy person who usually isn’t very talkative – I haven’t done badly this past month – so I should cut myself some slack.  *grin*

I really, really need to spend more time on the genre specific blogs, and silly me, I added another one a couple days ago.  Logic says I “should” keep it all here at Keeper Bookshelf – but, I dunno.  It’s a brand that I’m working and I really should not water it down too much.  Yet I enjoy the idea of the diversity of the genre specific blogs… once I get a better handle on scheduled posts, I should not have to worry about them too much.  Time, there rarely seems to be enough time.  Aw well, again, it will get done eventually.

Anyway, enough of my mind wandering out loud here.  *sheepish grin*  Summer is upon us and I’m looking forward to complaining about humidity and high temps, you too?  Lots of novel releases to look forward to, new friends to make and brand new worlds to explore.  I’m looking forward to the chaos – I think.  *wink*

Happy June to you all – and I hope all you wish for this month comes true.

Marsha

 

PAGE TOP