The Journals of Octavia Hollows: Books 1 – 6 by Stacey Rourke

Posted August 19, 2019 by Marsha in Paranormal Cozy Mystery, Series / 0 Comments

With a touch of her hand, Octavia Hollows can restore life. Yet, she couldn’t save the man she loved from the horrific accident that stole him from her.

Octavia thought she could outrun the pain, but ghosts from the past refuse to be silenced.

Out of options, she chooses to retrace her wayward journey across the country in search of answers.

Surrounded by baffling mysteries of the undead, what she learns about herself along the way might become her greatest weapon. 

This six novella series chronicles Octavia’s adventures in — Wake the Dead – Dead Man’s Hand – Caught Dead – Drop Dead Gorgeous – Dead Ringer – Dead as a Doornail 

Title:  The Journals of Octavia Rourke
Series:  The Journals of Octavia Rourke books 1-6
Author:  Stacey Rourke
Genre:  Paranormal Cozy Mystery
Published:  August 10, 2019
Publisher:  Anchor Group Publishing
My Rating:  4.5 stars

The six-book collection of THE JOURNALS OF OCTAVIA HOLLOWS gives readers a chance to have the entire series right at their fingertips to move from one story to the next easily.  This was an important aspect for me because I am not a fan of cliffhanger endings – I’ve never hidden that fact – however, I am a fan of Stacey Rourke’s writing so I made a decision back when this series first came out that I’d wait until it was complete and then binge read to avoid the cliffhanger element.  Well, before I could do that along comes this collection – which is even better for binge-reading through.  *grin*

If you enjoy Paranormal Cozy Mysteries then I’m pretty certain you’ll fall in love with Octavia and her sidekick, Bacon.  What’s not to love about a cute piglet riding on a motorcycle strapped to Octavia’s chest with the best view around, right?  For the most part, what you need to know beforehand about this series is in the Cover Description.  What that cannot tell you is you are going to be emotionally engaged in Octavia’s journey for answers, and perhaps more knowledge about herself than she ever expected to discover.  I won’t spoil it, but you will be on the edge of your seat often, enjoy a few laughs, a few misty eye moments and thoroughly enjoy yourself in this world.

Because this is a collection I was able to move from one cliffhanging ending right into the next story – that was important for me for several reasons.  But the most selfish one is simply I read a lot, and I often miss the next installment because of other reading/reviewing obligations.  But put an entire series in a collection/bundle and I can read to my heart’s content getting the entire story all in one swoop.  That is really the only way I can read stories with cliffhangers these days, and it works for me.  It might for you as well if you are not a fan of cliffhanger endings.

I had fun with THE JOURNALS OF OCTAVIA HOLLOWS and if you love a feisty heroine, a cute sidekick, interesting secondary characters and a story that will hold your attention throughout all of the series – then you’ll want to pick this one up, now.

I read this title through my Kindle Unlimited subscription.

Available for the Kindle


Tags: , , ,